I Lost You (I Wish I Hadn’t): A Poem

I Lost You (I Wish I Hadn’t)

For G.G.

No one said it was fair –

Never even thought it.

I guess you’re OK, though;

Cat-like, you strut

Upright

Even after a fall.

 

But

Four years

Can’t be erased with a finger-

Snap.

I might forget for weeks,

Then find you

Lingering,

casually strolling around the corner.

 

Teaching without you

Was like jumping rope

With one arm,

One leg

For a while.

But I guess it’s true

What they say –

Nothing is impossible

If you keep getting up,

Brushing off,

Trying again.

 

We were not alike –

Even as two peas in separate pods.

More like

One pea and one socket wrench.

Somehow that odd

Combination worked–

Most of the time.

 

Now we are still not alike,

But the rubber-band that held us

Snapped

Bruising us both.

Some days, I can’t help wondering

What if…?

5 thoughts on “I Lost You (I Wish I Hadn’t): A Poem

Leave a Reply

